During the elections to the European Parliament, Germans are threatened with a "Ukrainian tax"

10.06.2024/16/21 XNUMX:XNUMX    4

The elections to the European Parliament, which will take place in 9 EU countries on Sunday, June 21, are accompanied by a wave of misinformation. In particular, a fake appeared in Germany about a "Ukrainian tax" that EU citizens will allegedly be forced to pay.

This was reported by The Guardian with reference to the European Digital Media Observatory (EDMO).

In its daily alert, EDMO reported on a hoax circulating in Germany, according to which the EU will introduce a "Ukrainian solidarity tax" of 2024 euros per month from August 80.

Latest news:  China was outraged by the decision of the NATO summit because of the mention of cooperation with Russia

Observers called this fake an attempt to "undermine support for Ukraine and at the same time incite negative sentiments about the EU institutions", which are apparently going to apply unfair measures to EU citizens.

Both the European Commission and the Federal Ministry of Finance of Germany have confirmed the absence of such plans.

Migration policy in the EU became another object of disinformation. In particular, false claims are being made in Spain that the Socialist Party in Brussels, where elections are held today, represents only Muslim communities.

Latest news:  Ukraine wants to hold the second peace summit with Russia in time before the US elections — Bloomberg

What is known about the elections to the European Parliament

The election on Sunday, June 9, is the main and final day of the four-day voting cycle that began on Thursday, June 6.

The elections will determine the next composition of the European Parliament and, indirectly, the composition of the executive body of the EU - the European Commission.

The results of the EU-wide exit poll will be published at approximately 21:30 Kyiv time, with the first preliminary result after midnight Kyiv time.

Latest news:  The European Parliament called to end Hungary's presidency of the EU Council

Polls predict that liberals and "greens" will lose seats, while far-right MPs are expected to strengthen their positions compared to the results of the last European elections in 2019.

Voting has already taken place in the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Ireland, Latvia, Slovakia and Malta. In total, more than 370 million European citizens have the right to vote in 27 EU countries to elect 720 members of the European Parliament.